Posted by: EvanP.otato | October 30, 2012

Reviewing Midterm Blogs

1. http://scrappingfactory.wordpress.com/

I LOVE this blog. Everything about it works. As soon as I first visited the blog, I knew it was a scrap-booking blog. The background works, and the header is so cool because it actually looks like it was a scrap-booking job in and of itself. The second thing I notice is that DYar is really keeping this blog active! It’s clear that she really took the assignment a step further and actually blogged about something she loved. The posts seem like quality material, and the overall feel of the blog is that of professionalism. Good job!

2. http://jtspc.wordpress.com/

It’s quite obvious what this blog is about just from taking a quick look at the title that this is a tech blog. Tech blogs are pretty competitive nowadays, so to make this blog a success, you’ll need to be on top of everything! The header is pretty cool. It clearly highlights the fact that this is a computer blog. In my opinion, though, the theme feels slightly lacking. The gray background is boring and the sidebar doesn’t look all to inviting. Still, the posts seem to be full of information and seem to be coming from someone who cares about what they write.

3. http://rutgersimbasketball.wordpress.com/

Of all the class midterm blogs, this is probably my favorite. It’s my favorite because it serves a purpose bigger than just working for a single individual. This blog works for the entire Rutgers Intramural Basketball Team. The black and white header with the red text works great to grab attention. The posts are nice and the sidebar is filled with information that users might find useful. I also love the fact that this blog is not just a single person writing. It is a combined force of other intramural-loving students. Good work!

4. http://amandaklaboy.wordpress.com/

How to save your Heart has a  very relaxing feel. If that’s the feeling they were aiming for, then I say the owner did a fabulous job! The header works amazingly well to instill a sense of relaxation in the reader. I also love the fact that the header ties in with the background of the blog to make it feel like you’re flying above a city. The blog is about finding inspiration and I think it’s a wonderful theme to pursue.

5. http://anniesguidetocomics.tumblr.com/

This is one of the most fun blogs. It’s a whole blog about comics! While I, myself, am not into reading comics and the like, I DO understand the obsession, because I’m addicted to reading manga. (Yes, there’s a big difference). I like the background of this blog, it really tells you about what it is. However, I have a few problems with this blog. First, there is no header. You need a header to add awesomeness to your blog. Second, the post titles are kind of hard to read in that green color.  Finally, the width of the body of the blog confuses me. Is it a varying width depending on the post? It just looks odd. But still, great job.


Leave a comment

Categories